Air Fryer Pork Chops

It’s been a while. I sort of fell off the wagon. Keto or otherwise, but after losing 33.5 pounds I figured I shouldn’t let that go to waste and I’m back baby! Tonights dinner was a “fried” pork chop with green beans and red peppers. It was delicious! Who said fried food has to be off the menu when you’re eating low carb anyway?

pork chop

The best thing about this dinner is how quick and easy it is to make! I bought two boneless pork chops from the grocery store, plus a red bell pepper, fresh green beans, and a bag of plain pork rinds. The whole meal probably cost $15.00 dollars at most.

Pork Chops:

Rub the pork chops with a little EVOO on all sides and season with some salt and pepper. I use fresh ground pink Himalayan sea salt and fresh ground tri-color peppercorns. Put the plain pork rinds in a food processor with some salt, pepper, garlic powder, smoked paprika, onion powder, and I use a little spicy Goya Adobo too. If you don’t have a food processor you can do this with a mortar and pestle or even by putting them in a bag and bashing the absolute crap out of them with a rolling pin. In the end you want them as fine as bread crumbs. I put these in a Tupperware container that is a long rectangle, with enough room for the meat I’m using but deep enough it doesn’t all spill when I shake it. I preheat the air fryer to 375 degrees. airfryerI use a NuWave Air Fryer, it was a hand-me-down from my brother when his wife bought a new, fancier one. It serves us fine, I can fit four chicken breasts or pork chops in it. While it is preheating I toss the pork chops in the pork rind mixture, flipping enough times to fully coat all sides of the chop. Then I place it in the air fryer and cook for 15-20 minutes, temping it at 10 minutes, 12, and so on. I DO NOT FLIP the pork chop halfway, I have found this makes it soggy on both sides instead of just a little soggy on the bottom. Once it’s reach the desired temperature, I remove and serve.

Green Beans and Red Peppers:

I heat my cast iron skillet until a drop of water sizzles when I drop it in there. I add a little EVOO and a little Kerry Gold unsalted butter. Once hot and melted I add some fresh chopped garlic and let it get fragrant. I throw in the beans, toss them to coat them in the oil, butter, and garlic and then add salt and pepper, I let them cook for about five minutes, tossing them occasionally and then I add the red pepper (it cooks faster than the beans and I don’t like soggy veggies). Once they have some color and are bright green, but still crisp I reduce the heat and let them sort of rest until the pork chops are done.

I served the pork chops with a little Fire Freddie’s, a hot sauce I found in Abaco and fell in love with, but any hot sauce would do! Also, you can adjust the seasoning in the pork rind mix to your taste!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Air Fryer Pork Chops

Leave a comment