Bring it on down to Breakfastville…

Includes my egg frittata recipes…

Sorry, I’ve been watching a lot of the SNL Christmas specials and they’ve featured JT’s “bring it on down to whateverville” pretty heavily so that stuff is stuck in my brain…

omletteville

I’m having a hard time engaging in meal prep and planning today. I usually do all of my planning on Sunday morning. Then I head to the store and spend Sunday in the kitchen while Tony screams at the Steelers in the living room. Today is just not my day though. The Steelers are playing like they enjoy losing and this constant changing weather is playing havoc with my sinuses. So basically I’m just a huge grumpapotamus at the moment.

The menu for this week is pretty simple. We leave Friday am to head to PA so I only have to plan dinner for Sunday through Thursday and I’m keeping it pretty simple. Tonight we’re having pot roast and exculpatory potatoes (scalloped potatoes…it’s a long story) for Tony’s birthday dinner. Because of that I thought I’d focus on what I eat for breakfast everyday since that doesn’t change that often and probably won’t be my focus when writing these.

Monday Breakfast 1 Piece Simply Balanced Sprouted Grain Bread
1 slice egg white, sausage, mushroom, onion frittata
1/2 slice of laughing cow white cheddar  OR
0.4 oz of Thai fusion goat cheese from Publix
2 cups coffee
½ cup of cashew milk
1 scoop of Dymatize ISO 100 Cinnamon Bun Protein Powder
Lunch C&I Luncheon
Dinner Spaghetti and meatballs
Tuesday Breakfast Same
Lunch 1 Elli Quark
1/2 cup of Daisy low fat cottage cheese
1/2 cup of pineapple
1/2 cup of cucumber salad
1/2 cup of green chili quinoa and black beans
1 grilled chicken breast
Dinner Roasted chicken with thyme gravy (Pg. 118) and green bean almandine (Pg. 212) from Against All Grain
Wednesday Breakfast Same
Lunch Same
Dinner One pot Thai Quinoa Bowl – with salt and wit (I am making this again this week because I want to try something with the recipe and make some serious modifications, I’ll share the final adjusted, better macro recipe later this week after I toy with it.)
Thursday Breakfast Same
Lunch Same
Dinner Easy Shredded beef from Paleomg.com

Honestly, I’ve never been much of a breakfast eater. I’m not a morning person and doing anything productive before noon is usually not very high on the old priorities list. That being said, I have come to firmly believe that a filling, balanced, and delicious breakfast is key when it comes to losing weight and maintaining a healthy diet. If I skip breakfast, and I do because I suck at mornings, my entire day is trashed. I am so hungry by lunch that I eat my lunch and snacks in one sitting and usually before noon. Then I wind up scavenging (this is my bad habit I plan on dropping week 4 of RTB) before BBC and again while making dinner because I’m HANGRY. Breakfast has seriously helped me control my afternoon fridge prowling and my during dinner prep nibbling. If I had any wisdom to share with you this funky Sunday it would be this, MAKE TIME FOR BREAKFAST.

Because I don’t do mornings I prepare everything I possibly can Sunday and lay out all of my clothes, I also pack my lunch the night before, that way I can just roll out in the morning. My go-to breakfast food is a frittata. I really have Jen Elden to thank for this. She shared a pic of one she made and I was hooked. Prior to making frittatas I did egg white muffins and froze them. But I found thawed in the microwave egg white muffins disgusting and not something I could enjoy every morning. I was basically forcing myself to eat them and gagging them down daily. I don’t freeze my frittatas and because it only makes four slices I don’t feel like I’m tempting the fates with food that has spoiled.

breakfast.jpg

1 ½ cup Liquid Egg Whites I use these because it’s easier. Today I didn’t have any egg whites and had already visited the store so I use real eggs and separate them. It took me 6 large eggs to make about 1 ¼ cup of egg whites.
1 large egg You can leave this out if you want
¼ cup cashew milk I like adding this because it makes it a bit fluffier. But French chefs will tell you, milk doesn’t belong in an omelet.
4 oz Jennie-o Lean turkey sausage (I add fennel, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder to this) This is where you can get really creative. The potential for different types of flavors is infinite. Some varieties I like are:

Zucchini, onion, and mushroom
Spinach, tomato, and feta
Canadian Bacon, red bell pepper, jalapeño, and taco seasoning
Sausage, green pepper, and onion
Sausage, jalapeño, mushroom, and onion

4 or 5 mushrooms
¼ cup chopped onions
Pepper, Salt, Garlic Powder
Preheat oven to 350. Cook sausage, adding fennel, red pepper flakes, and garlic powder. Add onions and mushrooms to pan. While sausage is browning, pour egg whites into a measuring cup, add whole egg, ‘milk’, seasonings and whisk until frothy. When sausage is done cooking add whisked eggs to the pan. Cook on stove top for a few minutes and then transfer to oven. Each one cooks differently for me so I just keep a close on eye on it and when the center is set I know it’s done.

nutrionI cook these in a 6 inch cast iron skillet I inherited from Tony’s mum. I pack 1/4 of the frittata for breakfast daily and on the fifth day eat an egg white patty from Good Food Made Simple that I buy at Harris Teeter. I eat my frittata on a piece of sprouted grain bread that I toast and either a laughing cow or goat cheese I spread on the toast. This meal is complimented with a protein powder coffee. I use Dymatize ISO 100 Cinnamon Bun and 1/2 cup of cashew milk to make the protein coffee. But I have heard that AfterBurn is also delicious in coffee. The nutritional information for the frittata is pictured on the right.

I hope you found some of this helpful. In the time it took to write it the Steelers managed to pull out a win over the Bengals and two people I have close contact with have texted me to tell me they have the flu. I guess I have to take the good with the bad. Have a great week and get those workouts in!!

A quick note about EZ bread. There are several options out there for you. My preference is the Target Simply Balanced brand. I’m including a breakdown of the three main brands we typically use at BBC below so you can see how they compare to each other. They are all pretty similar but when you are trying to nail those macros sometimes 1 or 2 grams of carbs can make a difference between perfect and almost there.

Ezekiel Bread (34 g) 80 calories
.5 g fat
15 carbs
4 g protein
Target Simply Balanced Sprouted Grain Bread (28 g) 60 calories
0 g fat
10 carbs
3 g protein
Trader Joe’s Sprouted Grain Bread (28 g) 70 calories
0 g fat
16 carbs
3 g protein

Leave a Reply

