The Inaugural Blog…let’s see where this takes us…

This weeks featured recipe is a grilled, tequila marinated chicken with a green chili black bean quinoa.

Well, arm twisted…I was only mildly serious when I said, “I’ll write a weekly blog with recipes…” but then I thought, why not, it’s not like you have anything else to do. (No, seriously, when I’m up at 3 am staring at the ceiling this will be a welcome reprieve…) So here we are. I’ll be honest I have no clue where this will go or what it will contain. I have ideas. SO. MANY. IDEAS. But I’m like that. Lots and lots of (great?) ideas. The problem is, I completely and utterly lack motivation so I never act on any of them. That being said, I’ll do my best to not let you down if you happen to be one of the five or so people I figure will follow and read this.

Since this is the first blog I’m going to keep it pretty simple. Plus I’m SUPER sore from this week’s workouts (what the heck was up with Monday and Tuesday???) so holding my arms up for too long to type is difficult.

With the holidays looming and an upcoming trip to Sin City for a dear friends wedding I’m trying to be good…as good as possible with my food intake. This week is sort of a bust for me because we have Christmas Party numero dos Friday night and Tony’s birthday is Monday, so we have reservations at Gianni’s Saturday night. I’d like to say I’ll eat a salad and abstain, but I don’t like to lie. On account of all the festivities I only had to meal prep for Sunday – Thursday (usually I plan for Sunday – Saturday).

The Menu

Sunday – One pot quinoa Thai chicken from withsaltandwit.com
Monday – Beef Bulgogi with cauliflower rice from paleomg.com
Tuesday – Crock pot dill chicken with veggies from Wildtree
Wednesday – Beef and broccoli cashew stir fry from paleomg.com
Thursday – Chicken Tokillya with peppers and onions and a green chili quinoa

You should know, I modify most of the recipes I steal and I’m working on how to add them to this blog, without each blog growing to 5000 words. I’m thinking I’ll do pages of some sort, or just separate blogs or something…just consider us still in beta for now…The greatest issue I have with most paleo recipes is the high amount of fat found in them. I have decided that paleo ain’t afraid of fat and therefore uses it, in my opinion, in excess. Most of the modifications I make cut the fat WAAAAAAAYYYY down and amend them enough that they work with the BBC suggested macro settings in MFP. I’m usually pretty successful at this but not always. I think you can follow me on MFP and see the recipes in there, although not all of them are in there…again, I’m still in beta…

The winner this week was definitely tonight’s dinner. It was so tasty and SO filling. That’s one of my biggest struggles. I can eat healthy, I just can’t eat the proper proportions. I feel like that kid in Role Models who says he’s going to run a train on the chicken tenders and just NOM NOM NOM…

tumblr_m9ke12xdo11rxwlfuo1_500

Anyway, tonight I grilled (in the cold) 4 chicken breasts and served them with some limey peppers and onions and green chili quinoa and black beans. I also ate a chicken bullion cube, but I don’t want to talk about that. Like I said, this recipe was really good and I didn’t feel like I needed to stand in front of the fridge and eat random stuff I find in there. This recipe is my own, but like most things, whatever you can think of, someone else most likely already has. In this case, I found that mine is sort of a mix of paleomg.com, Emeril Lagasse, and some Allrecipes.com listings. I made the marinade Thursday night and let them chillax in the fridge just soaking up the goodness until they hit the grill tonight. I usually try to marinate most of my food for at least 24 hours, even though T keeps telling me it’s just overkill, to which I respond, “do you want to cook dinner?” So far I’m still the only one in the kitchen.

The recipe for tonight’s meal is below. If you make it, I’d love to hear from you. I also welcome feedback, comments, etc. If this is going to happen it’s going to have to be a team effort. Remember, I’m not a self-motivator…so if you want to read about what I’m eating, you have to keep me accountable or I’ll just go back to posting pics to my Instagram account!

Chicken Tokillya with limey peppers and onions

Marinade:
4 chicken breasts (I use Perdue perfect portions or the Food Lion organic portioned chicken breasts typically)
2 jalapeño peppers (seeded and chopped)
2 Tbsp minced garlic (I buy the big tubs of pre-minced garlic cause I’m L-A-Z-Y)
2 Tbsp EVOO
2 ounces tequila (I used the Jose Cuervo I had in the cabinet)
Zest of one lime (zest before juicing)
2 limes juiced
3 Tbsp honey (little trick, do the oil first, then the honey, this will keep it from sticking to the spoon which is hella annoying)
1 tsp salt
1 heaping tsp of dried oregano
1 tsp of garlic powder
½ heaping tsp of chili powder
½ heaping tsp of smoked paprika
½ tsp of cumin
½ cup of fresh cilantro minced
¼ cup of green onions chopped

Marinate for at least 30 minutes, up to 24 hours. Then grill or cook in a grill pan.

Limey Peppers and Onions:
½ red bell pepper chopped
½ green bell pepper chopped
¼ red onion chopped
1 jalapeño chopped
1-2 tsp of ghee
2 Tbsp of lime juice
salt and pepper to taste
Chopped cilantro

Heat the ghee in a pan on medium heat. Add peppers and onions to pan, salt and pepper, and cook until soft and showing some signs of char or browning. When done, add lime juice and cilantro and mix. Serve on top of the chicken.

tequila-chicken

Green Chili Quinoa with Black Beans:
2 cups water
2 chicken bullion cubes (you could also use 2 cups chicken stock which is a healthier option, but I didn’t have any ok?)
1 cup quinoa
1 tin roasted green chiles
1 can black beans
(the quinoa, green chiles, and black beans are all from Trader Joe’s and organic)
Add, to your taste preferences,
Cumin
Oregano
Adobo Powder (this is my new obsession…I have both the Wildtree adobo and the Goya brand, Wildtree is most likely the healthier option)

Bring the water, bullion, quinoa and green chiles to a boil. Turn to low heat and simmer covered until the liquid is absorbed and the quinoa is fluffy. Add the black beans, stir and heat through.

EAT THAT STUFF!!!!

 

 

One thought on “The Inaugural Blog…let’s see where this takes us…

Leave a Reply

